Human(e) rights

My soul has just shattered into a million of tiny pieces. I’m no extremist when it comes to animal rights, the environment and similar. But I know what’s right and I try to live by it.

I was just on a lovely walk with my dog, enjoying the warm and sunny weather, when I heard two shots followed by high-pitched moans and cries of an animal. Immediately, my heart dropped. I could feel that something terrible had gone down. My dog mimicked my state of mind – baffled, he was looking around, trying to figure out what had happened.

When I got back home, I found out. A stray dog had wandered to our neighbour’s house. And instead of calling the animal shelter, he took matters and his gun into his hands and shot the poor dog. I will never be able to look at him in the same way. I don’t even want to see him.

But who I blame just as much, or even more, are the poor excuses of humans that had left the dog. Who would abandon an animal? Why? How could you??

Having a pet, someone that is dependent on you is tough and demands responsibility. But it’s also thrilling and beyond pleasant. The way our dog Tom wags his tail when he sees us, or the way he presses against me to be as close as possible, how he enjoys to be patted just melts my heart. I could never even think about throwing him away, let alone actually doing it.

How people treat their pets is just another indicator of how we behave towards nature. If your child wants a pet and you know they nor you will take care of it, say no! If you can’t even take care of yourself, do not get a pet! If you don’t have the time, the money or simply the will to have an animal dependent on you, just say no to owning one.

What is about people that makes them so selfish, self-absorbed, narcissistic and ignorant? What do people think who will take care of the dog they’ve just left at the side of the road? How dare you abandon a living being? Who has given you the right to get rid of a dog or cat etc so coldly and inhumane?

It goes to show people’s attitude towards everything and everyone around us. If it doesn’t suit us, if it doesn’t benefit us, if it is a nuisance, humans have taken upon themselves the right to simply reject it. WRONG!

The cold, self-absorbed and human-centerd society will bite us in the ass. The process has already been set in motion. Nature is a privilege and a jewel – something to cherish. And yet we do anything but.

Be good!

4 thoughts on “Human(e) rights

Leave a Reply

