Equinox

IMG_20160328_153045

I remember when I was writing my novel everyone around me kept asking me what the title of my book was. I didn’t know. Yet. I was sure that the title would come to me while developing the story. Something would pop out and become the most significant word. It would carry the weight of the story.

And when I chose it, I was disappointed just how many authors have titled their books the same. But I couldn’t replace it. I have always felt it was perfect.

And now, why Equinox? Because the story is about two people (Alexis and Colton) who are both independent, self-sufficient, strong, marvelous products of their past, successful, ambitious and complete on their own. They don’t need anyone to fill a space. They aren’t willing to lose themselves for someone else. No one needs to be the dominant or the subordinate one. There is just an equinox. Two separate entities, perfect on their own, that make a unique and beautiful union when combined. No one disappears in relations to the other. No one is more important. Both can stand on their own without the other. But they don’t want to. The night is magnificently beautiful. And the day is majestically gorgeous. However, when you put the two together in an equal union, you get a phenomenon that happens rarely.

And Alexis says it perfectly in the book:

He fits me without a flaw. At the beginning, I was apprehensive that he might swallow me whole and I’d disappear for having him. After the time spent together, I’m certain that Colton is the day to my night. And we both have the same value, power, control, individuality and independency. No one disappears. We are like an equinox. Just like the day moves into the night and then night into day, we both complete each other and build a partnership. We are two different entities co-existing superbly, letting each other be but never leaving each other’s side.

I shed another tear. This time out of happiness for meeting Colton. If my life is to end here, I’ll still die a happy and content person.

 

Leave a Reply

