Losing my voice

I’ve written about not taking the proper time to rest and being unable to say no to work offers. And it’s happened again.

I spent this weekend in bed ill. Here comes Monday and me debating whether I should stay at home because I was really sick. Of course, I went to work, not wanting to deal with the hassle of making arrangements and staying at home. I thought to myself “What’s the point? Just suck it up.”

For someone who would like to think that they take care of themselves, I find it difficult to admit that I am ill and that I need to stay in bed for a few days. I even find it awkward talking about it. I just hate being sick. When I talk about it while experiencing it, I actually might shed a tear or two (or fifteen). So annoying.

So, I had gone to work this week until today, when my body decided to pull the plug on me. Went to work and came straight back home. I’ve lost my voice. Literally! I can’t speak to save my life. I’m an easier target than KKW.

And now I’m forced to stay at home for the rest of the week and cancel all of my obligations from morning until night. I didn’t want to do it. And now I have to.

One way or the other, balance is restored. Your body will force you to take a step back. If your life is going too fast, the universe will pull you back somehow.

It’s important to let yourself take time for everything and especially for yourself. I have to learn to let myself be ill.

XO

One thought on “Losing my voice

Leave a Reply

