Shorts squad a.k.a. the squad that came up short

I watched Suicide Squad last weekend (yeah, yeah, I’m late to the party). And then the obsessive streak in me wanted to know more about it, so I googled and searched through Youtube. And apparently Jared Letos’ performance was beyond talked about and highly anticipated. By the time I finished watching the promo footage I was sure that I would want to smack him and put that rat he gave his costar into his pants. How are people that aren’t actually that talented or anything special able to convince others of the opposite? He is one of those people (actors) that goes to extremes, talks a lot and seems busy but actually isn’t doing anything. Anyway…

The movie is average. I kept waiting for something exciting, explosively interesting and appealing. But all of a sudden the film was over. I’ve been confused ever since. The movie didn’t live up to its hype. And the Joker is outrageously weird (not in a good way, at all). It might be the fact that no one can beat Heath Ledger (or even Jack Nicholson). But seriously, I hadn’t expected much from Leto and boy did he deliver. My God, that laugh. It left me in a shock with bulging eyes shaking my head in disbelief.

And the butcher of Joker actually received questions about his preparations, filming and everything no one that has seen the film cares about. However, I was appalled to see that reporters were more interested in Margot Robbie/Harley Quinn’s shorts than her great performance. Margot and her costars got asked about her tiny outfit. People! She is the person that makes this movie watchable. She is the reason I kept watching. Because of her I’m going to go see the sequel. And reporters want to know about her shorts. I couldn’t believe it.

So Jared Leto the man who had given so much into his role (rolling my eyes) and flopped gets asked serious question and is given recognition. And Margot Robbie who steps on set and delivers one amazing performance after the other and is amazing in Suicide Squad gets asked about her wearing shorts. That makes so much sense! Noooooooooooot!

Leave a Reply

