Mistake is a mistake only if not fixed

… If you remedy it, it becomes a valuable lesson. At least that is the belief I’m trying to internalize.

I’ll easily admit that I’m one of those pesky humans that are perfectionists. But being prone to demanding everything and everyone to be perfect, being most horrible to myself, hasn’t brought me much. Focusing on the idea of being impeccable is tiring and it calls for disappointments. That is why I’ve been working on myself to let myself breathe, not to expect people and things around me to be flawless. Mistakes are bound to happen, you are meant to make them. How else are you supposed to learn? To gather experience? Whenever you try doing something new, it is likely you will make a mistake. And it’s what you do with it that defines you. Will you let it take you down into the flames of self-doubt and self-hatred, or will you rise above it, gather knowledge and apply it the next time?

I would love to say that I don’t let mistakes tear my soul apart but they do. I expect a lot of myself and I am aware that the standards and goals I’ve set for myself are not easily obtained or even average. But the fire in me pushes me forward and progress is developed out of mistakes, obstacles and changes. I’m talking myself into taking that as motivation to keep pushing.

We should all strive to be splendid, great at what we do and who we are. However, we should also embrace mistakes as they come and make the best out of them – and the best outcome is always knowledge and experience you can apply towards progress.

Sending you lots of love!

Leave a Reply

