What does my first novel tell you about me?

Let me answer you… Practically nothing.

I’ve always liked reading romance books (I might have mentioned this once or twice, or several times here) and I more than enjoy writing romance novels. As a romance author you get to create and develop a world of fictional romance that no love can compete with. It’s fun, it’s interesting, it’s exciting and appealing, and yes, it’s steamy.

I don’t know whether it’s just my surroundings. When I proudly share that I’ve written a contemporary romance novel, people don’t seem to get what that is. No, it’s not about boy meeting a girl and them only holding hands for the rest of their lives, blushing every time the thought of a peck on the cheek comes to mind. Romance novels do tend to have elements of erotica in them. Read it and deal with it, or don’t open it at all.

But what really bothers me is when people somehow think that my writing sexual scenes into the story of my book, gives them the right to talk about sex with me outside of the realm of fiction. Why would anyone think that my creating a steamy sexual scene gives them the right to offensively and vocally speculate that must also be a reality? It doesn’t matter and it’s none of your freaking business. If you enjoy the more passionate scenes in Equinox, I must be good with words and apparently was able to accomplish my goal. I don’t want the entire story to be overshadowed by sex. Intimate scenes are only there to support, not star in the book. And if you find yourself liking them, well thumbs up for me.

To be honest, I think that sexual scenes get a lot more flack in books than they do in movies. I can’t imagine writing nor reading a romance novel without some passionate intimacy. It’s common for sex to be a part of a relationship. Moreover, who wants to read a romance novel without steaminess and passion. Give me a break. Unless you are 99 years old, have lived in a bubble your whole life and have never experienced any type of intimate interaction, you shouldn’t be embarrassed by sex in books (and films) and you definitely shouldn’t condemn it.

People or rather those that have read my book somehow believe that because you write something that’s who you are, that they know who you are. You know my characters and the style might give you a feeling about who I am, but the plot and the events in the book give you absolutely no information about me; they especially don’t give you an insight into my bedroom or take you behind its door. The passionate paragraphs definitely aren’t in the novel for anyone to presume that they have any right to start a personal conversation about my sexual experience with me. It has nothing to do with me.

Has anyone ever thought of Stephen King as creepy for writing his books, or JK Rowling as a witch for hers? And you know Tolkien wasn’t a hobbit, right?

Books are written to be read and to be entertaining, and that is all a writer wants to accomplish. I want to offer you a fun distraction and relaxation, intrigue and excitement, fantasy and romance, and not an insight into my world and my bedroom. If I wanted to do that, I’d write a memoir; and then you would be able to presume that you know me, that you know my story and not that of Alexis and Colton as in Equinox. I might have lent my musical and clothing taste as well as a pinch of my sarcasm to the book but that is just because all three rock (wink).

I’ve been wondering if most authors have to deal with people around them falsely thinking that reading their novels gives an idea about the authors’ personal lives. It’s called fiction because it’s fictional and that is the opposite of reality. Choose a book, enjoy the story and don’t overanalyze what is supposedly appropriate and what it says about the writer. There is only one author but they have many works for a reason. And that reason is called imagination.

Hope you get to read a good book this week.

6 thoughts on “What does my first novel tell you about me?

Leave a Reply

