Popping the champagne!

giphy.gif

I was planning to post this on the day that it happened but of course the forces of my annoying laptop that decided to throw a tantrum intervened. I want to celebrate this special moment of reaching the hundredth page in my second novel by sharing an excerpt from the story.

Of course, it was an impossible mission to pick out something, anything for that matter. I wanted the words not to reveal anything, yet still give you an insight into the story of Equinox as well as the unnamed sequel and also into the dynamic between Alexis and Colton.

I wanted you to be able to understand and sense who Alexis is. My goal has always been for her to be strong, intelligent, independent, caring, loving and feminine. Basically, displaying that a woman does not lose any of her female appeal or identity by being powerful, accomplished and the one that is in charge in her life. On the other hand, Colton is a man who knows that masculinity is not stripped off if he is in a relationship with a woman that is everything Alexis is.

Yet love is never easy. It’s especially a challenge when you know the person doesn’t need you but wants you. It might be difficult to accept. Each individual in that relationship must be willing to get, give and also let it be, and that rhythm is sometimes quite the challenge.

Do they make it or not? Well, I’m giving you an insight into the plot of the second book in the series. You can get the first book, Equinox, on Amazon and Kindle, and make me the happiest person in the world.

I force my legs to carry me to the couch and sink into it. Colton sits opposite me and tries to take my hand into his. Instinctively, I move it away. I’m afraid that if I feel his touch every other feeling that I need to sort through will be gone.

But after seeing the effect it has on him, seeing the hurt and terror in his eyes I am remorseful about my action. Almost. I know what it means to him to have me long for his touch but right now I still haven’t let go and I want him to feel the devastation that’s been my today’s companion.

“I’m sorry, I can’t have your skin on mine.” I want to, but I can’t.

He visibly shakes, his frame seeming smaller than usual. With James and Nicole in the room with us he still kept his shoulders back and his head high, looking every bit of the strong man he is. But now, with just us here, he doesn’t pretend in front of me. As always I’m the one that he is raw, vulnerable and unmasked in front of. Don’t go there. However, I can’t let him do everything he wants. What he did today was wrong, I need him to recognize that. And never do it again.

I need to express everything I’m keeping inside. I look at him, the man that I’ve loved since seeing him, the man who can hurt me like no one else, without even realizing. The force he has to impact my life is terribly frightening. I need to take some power away from him and into my hands.

Hope you like it and if you want to read more, you know what to do. 😉

Have a great Friday and an even better weekend!

7 thoughts on “Popping the champagne!

  1. Well, I’m going to join you in the toast, even from this far away (and in fact with gin and tonic at the mo’, not champers). Well done, and delighted you’ve overcome the crash (bloody computers!). I’ve told you what I think of Alexis and Colton from the first book – I think she comes across exactly as you say you wanted her to; she’s my kind of woman. I’m not sure he ‘deserves’ her though, but we’ll see. Thanks for giving us an insight. I certainly want to read more; rock on Kristina! x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

