Untypically typical

2016-04-20 15.38.46I promised in my previous post that I would get into the “whys”: why is the title of the series Alpha Series; why is the title Equinox; why is it an untypically typical contemporary romance novel…

When writing my first novel in my (first) series I didn’t really concern myself with either the title of the book or the series. I was sure that by the end of writing the first draft, I would have a name in mind. I trusted that the creative process, the story and the characters would give me an idea. And the title it has now was the first and only one that I considered.

Equinox symbolizes the perfect union of two separate entities – day and night. It’s not about being good or bad, it’s about making something whole. I will always strive to have female and male characters equally strong, appealing and dominant. That is the idea behind the word equinox – you can’t have one without the other, one can’t be more powerful than the other, there have to be two halves. If you don’t have the day and the night equally long, you don’t have the equinox. And if you don’t have two partners in a relationship who are both significant and in control then you don’t have a partnership.

Maybe Alexis says it best…

He fits me without a flaw. At the beginning, I was apprehensive that he might swallow me whole and I’d disappear for having him. After the time spent together, I’m certain that Colton is the day to my night. And we both have the same value, power, control, individuality and independence. No one disappears. We are like an equinox. Just like the day moves into the night and then night into day, we both complete each other and build a partnership. We are two different entities co-existing superbly, letting each other be but never leaving each other’s side.

I like reading romance novels and I was fed up with authors giving more influence and power to the male characters. Sometimes it seemed to me like women were there to be played with, dominated over and simply waited for the men to change, putting their own values and goals aside. Now, we live in a wonderful time of people letting themselves shine and develop, letting go of foreign expectations, and liberating themselves to live how they want to live. Women aren’t willing to wait around for their partners to finally grow up and realize what’s happening. And I wanted to show that in my story line.

The idea behind the story and consequently behind the title is also displayed in the cover of Equinox. I deliberately selected the juxtaposition between black and white, showing the importance of both. I chose to add the bright purple to represent the genre of romance. I have always quite liked the notion of the cover also not being stereotypical and/or cheesy.

Before I published the novel I had to make one final decision… The title of the series. I went with the Alpha Series and the reasoning behind that is: I wanted to celebrate both of them being strong and in control while using the expression that gets used so frequently in romance novels. And for the relationship to work no one needs to bow down, no one needs to be forgotten, both can shine. Both are alphas. Letting a partner prosper and supporting them, is a sign of an individual’s strength. It says more about that person than about the partner.

When describing what my novel is about (that ominous question every writer dreads), I always say it’s untypically typical. All paragraphs above support that claim, but what makes the last argument is the fact that I chose not to only give the reader both points of view (Alexis and Colton’s) but also to give an insight into the thought process by seeing their individual internal debates. You sort of get to see into their hearts and minds. The reader can get really engrossed into the plot and you almost become a part of their fictional world.

What also adds another punch is humor. I am quite sarcastic so that is one part of me that I planted into the story. I didn’t write Alexis and Colton – the lead characters in the Alpha Series – with me or any of my loved ones in mind but I did pour myself into the writing style. And I’ve never been apprehensive about it because it makes sense. Writing is the very core of my being, there is nothing where I feel more vulnerable and raw, or more strong and complete than when I’m writing. My heart has been poured into the written product.

If you want to get pulled into the fictional and thrilling bubble of Alexis Richards and Colton King in the middle of New York, then you better get a copy of Equinox on Amazon or Kindle.

Well, I’m going to go hide and write the second one and I wish you all a great week!

4 thoughts on “Untypically typical

  1. I’m delighted to tell you that I gathered all the above from reading Equinox although for me, as I’ve said before, Alexis comes out the stronger. Can’t write more now as I’ve been struck by a particularly vicious ‘bug’ and spent since Thursday lunchtime in bed when even lifting the iPad was too much. Awaiting the second book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

