It’s not a sprint…

…it’s a marathon.

As I’m getting older, I do like to admit that my personal traits have been changing too. I used to be such a perfectionist, impulsive and demanded results with no mistakes whatsoever. I had to have everything and exactly when I wanted it, not a second sooner or later. But we all know that life is not that obedient. As soon as you make a plan the universe loves to mess it up and throw you off your track.

It’s not that my life has been so perfect that I wouldn’t be able to deal with rejection, criticism and flaws. Because it hadn’t been devoid of sorrow and challenges, I didn’t want to cause myself to be hurt and disappointed. But wanting and striving for perfection is a senseless goal. Nothing is perfect. No one is immaculate.

And getting older has made me more aware that by being a perfectionist and not letting myself make mistakes does not better anything but simply worsens it. If we don’t make mistakes, we don’t learn. If we don’t fail, we don’t have experience. I’ve always known that the bad things and how you deal with them build who you are, but now I realize that sometimes you shouldn’t deal with the negative things and simply let go, for your own sake.

It has also taken me quite some time to accept (of course, longer than I would have liked, being a recovering perfectionist and all that) that it doesn’t matter how small a step forward is as long as you keep walking. It’s still progress and you’re still moving in the right direction. Anything is better than standing still and waiting.

Focus on the positivity and progress and ignore the negativity.

Sending you lots of love!

12 thoughts on “It’s not a sprint…

Leave a Reply

