The Real Neat Blog Award

The lovely Kari Lynn M nominated me on her blog ikarilynn.wordpress.com for this award and I thought it would be fun to jump into answering her questions today. I just hope there are no questions about favorites because I absolutely suck at those.

Here it goes…

1. How often do you write? How much do you write during a writing session?

I write as often as I can. I crawl in an imaginary hole, hidden from the rest of the world, I pull my laptop out (my precious) and start typing away. But it depends how much I write during one session – anywhere between a word and a chapter.

2. What are your favorite scenes from any movies, shows, games, ect.?

(Shit.)  I can’t name favorite movies, shows etc. how the hell am I supposed to name my favorite scenes?? I just don’t knooow.

I’m trying to think of something. Okay, the scene in Wonder Woman when Diana gets out of the gutter during the battle and defeats the enemy, giving every one on her side hope and faith. I’d love to read that scene described in a book. It would be spectacular to read.

giphy (1).gif

Oh, and seeing the end credits of the Mortal Instruments movie because boy, oh, boy…they didn’t do a good job.

When it comes to TV shows… I’m in a bit of slump currently. I did start watching Game of Thrones so maybe naming a favorite scene won’t be as challenging after a few days/weeks.

3. What writers or authors do you look up to/admire?

I admire anyone that writes and publishes a book or series, and consequently manages to create a world of fans that are beyond loyal and adore the book(s). That is simply phenomenal. It must be an incredible feeling. It’s hard to name people because there are so many that either pioneer a genre, or develop it further, or offer something refreshing. And anyone that can stand the test of time, remaining significant after many years, decades even…deserves all the admiration and praise.

There are really so many: J.K. Rowling, Tolkien, Emily Brontë (I love Wuthering Heights.), Thomas Hardy, Tolstoy, Dostoyevsky, Agatha Christie, Suzanne Collins… And then I enjoy reading a lot of contemporaries, especially in romance genre.

4. If you could change any part of anything you’ve ever written… what would you change, or would you decide to not change anything?

I’ve written one romance novel and am currently writing the second one in the series. Despite the hurricane of self-doubt and self-consciousness being ever-present inside my mind, I don’t think I would change anything about my first book. I am a strong believer in no regrets because our past and the actions in it have brought us to the present moment. And changing one element can alter the now.

What I would do differently is that I’d start blogging, promoting the book and sharing the process of writing beforehand and not at the time of actually publishing it.

5. What’s your favorite dessert?

I. Am. Such. A. Sugar. Junkie. I like anything and everything sweet. I’d say that ice cream takes the prize for me. It’s so difficult to resist it (and mostly I don’t even bother); especially when summer is as hot as this year.

giphy (2).gif

6. What all genres of writing have you experimented with before? Which ones, if there are any, would you like to try in the future?

I’ve only written contemporary romance so far but I’ve got a few ideas that would not fit into this particular genre and I can’t wait to explore them. I’m attracted to writing NA fantasy.

7. Do you listen to music while you write? If so, what do you listen to the most or what helps you write the most?

I normally don’t write without listening to something but it depends on the mood I’m in. Sometimes I go for classical, sometimes for rock, r’n’b, hip-hop, and sometimes for whatever is popular now. I love choosing one song on YouTube and then write, letting the songs continue on randomly. There are hands thrown in the air, hair flipped, loud singing and fingers typing away the words.

8. And… bonus question… Have you ever been or would you ever go skydiving?

I have never been but it’s been on my bucket list for quite a few years. I just need to do it before my age grows and my courage diminishes.

See you on Thursday! 😉

10 thoughts on “The Real Neat Blog Award

  1. Yay! I lovedddd reading your answers! Thanks for participating!
    Gotta say, too, I love your answer to what you would (or wouldn’t) change about your writing. I kind of felt the same way when I came up with the question… you should never have regrets about own writing!
    Also… I’ve done the youtube shuffle music thing, too. Usually on accident because I forget I’m listening to stuff of youtube… but it does help my mood!
    Thanks again and hope you had fun answering! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not a lot of surprises there having followed you for a little while and read ‘Equinox’. Although I admire JK Rowling for what she’s achieved I’ve no interest in reading her Harry Potter stuff or, in general fantasy, but Emily Bronte is one of my greatest heroes, and I’m lucky enough to live close to her so know the environment very well. How she evokes it but hardly ‘describes’ it is a continual wonder to me. I usually listen to music while writing but generally stick with classical, big band/swing/jazz or music made by friends. Otherwise, my answers might have been very similar to yours. Writing this having just got on a ferry to Holland so could be one or two inspiring moments in the next 4 hours I might have guessed about the ice cream! 😃

    Like

      • Just arrived at our destination in Romania, evening 29 July. Although I’ve managed to keep my daily diary on Facebook, more or less, I haven’t managed to keep up with blogs.
        How predictable are you? I’d say not at all had I not read your book and followed your posts for a while now. Also, we are similar in many ways except a difference in gender, you are more diligent with the writing and you are much, much younger 😉- and I like icecream too (understatement!)

        Like

Leave a Reply

